Em’s Dailies #2: The Sound of Music

Music cleanses the understanding; inspires it, and lifts it into a realm which it would not reach if it were left to itself. – Henry Ward Beecher

I have no idea what life is like without music. We hear it everywhere, from the coffee shops where we enjoy a nice cup of coffee in the mornings, to the busy restaurants where it plays in the background, to the concerts where everyone is screaming and cheering on the band onstage, to the bars where it blares loudly for everyone, even the ones outside, can hear it, to even the nice elevator ride up to the next floor. It is almost natural to assume that music, which are noises from instruments, machines, and the unison of voices by profoundly talented artists, is a everyday necessity. Music touches us in some sort of way every single day of our lives, and, in my opinion, a life without music is a lonely and depressing life.

During my freshman year in high school, I would literally lay down on my bed everyday after school, pull out my headphones, and listen to music for at least three or four hours. I would stare up at the ceiling, feeling my social anxiety and my overall stress leave my body as I would zone out and sing along in quiet whispers. Over the years, my taste in music has grown larger and broader, and even to this day it is an escape for me. I found that I am a huge rocker at heart, and today for my daily, I thought I would express my music taste, and maybe suggest some music that maybe you could enjoy as well. Not all of my music is for the faint at heart, however.

Ever since I was a sophomore in high school, I have been utterly in love with the 90’s punk rock band Green Day. I started by listening to their album 21st Century Breakdown (2009), and immediately I caught on to the lyrics of songs like “Last of the American Girls” and “21 Guns”. But as time went on, I might as well say I grew obsessed with everything about Green Day. My personal favorite albums are Insomniac and Dookie, My favorite songs were “Brain Stew”, “Longview”, “She”, and “Homecoming”. And who could possibly forget the iconic lead singer, Billie Joe Armstrong? Needless to say. I absolutely was a Green Day enthusiast.

As time went on, however, I grew to love all sorts of bands, like Nirvana, The Offspring, Metallica, Avenged Sevenfold, and Muse. But that was only the beginning of expanding my taste. I grew to love older bands as well, such as Led Zeppelin, The Beatles, Jefferson Airplane, The Sex Pistols, Ramones, Guns n’ Roses, and Black Sabbath. Before I knew it, I had at least 1,000 songs per playlist. Of course, the playlists didn’t make up just the artists and bands I just listed, but many, many more as well. I love alternative rock, some reggae, and some pop artists like Ed Sheeran. I also found that I am a british bluegrass fan, proven by the amount of songs by the sensational Mumford and Sons.

I share my music taste with you because listening to music increases my creativity and productivity when I write. In fact, I’m listening to music as I am writing this blog post, (“The Day in the Life” by the Beatles, in case you were wondering what song, which this is a great song you should listen to). Depending on where your attention span lies and how you complete tasks, music is a great way to motivate your productivity. For example, when I write poems, I dabble in The Beatles and Jefferson Airplane, as well as other bands from the late 60’s and 70’s. There is a odd reason behind that.

So, bands like the Beatles and Jefferson Airplane were prominent in the 1960’s, and for the youngsters who don’t remember hearing about the 1960’s, it was the decade of hippies, drugs, and the slogan “Make love not war”. Anyways, the songs written by bands in the 60’s had references to suggestive content such as psychedelia, certain innuendos, and even death. It’s dark material, “heavy” as some in those days would say it. Anyways, the symbolism, creativity, and mind-wandering lyrics inspire me to open my mind up to new ideas, and broaden my horizons as I brainstorm poem topics.

Of course, music serves other purposes to me as well. Music makes me happy. If I’m having a terrible day, music helps me feel better. If I’m stressed out, music relieves me. If I am happy, I celebrate with music. If I am remembered a moment in my life, I can easily find a song that reminds me of that memory.

My point is that without music, I feel like my life would not be where it is today. I would not be the person that I am without music. I probably wouldn’t even be an aspiring writer had it not been for the hours of exposure chords, riffs of guitars, and heart-touching lyrics that always brought me home.

 

 

Leave a Reply

