Em’s Dailies #3: No Hard Feelings

Once again, I am late on another blog post! I’m so sorry for that but here is Em’s Dailies #3. Regardless of how tardy I am to writing this week, I have been pulled to this topic that many people have struggled or is struggling with: grudges and bitterness. I can easily say that it is good timing that I write about this subject. The reason that my attention has been put on it was because of something that happened to me about four or five years ago, when I was a younger teenager. It was between me and an old best friend of mine, which the situation was childish and not even worth the time to talk about.

Anyways, I recently saw a family member of his while I was working at my job, and I talked to them and, after finishing our conversation, I told him to tell the rest of his family hello. I only said it because I was being kind, without even thinking about who was in his family anyways. I just said it without it weighing on my mind more than a grain of salt would.

Not even twelve hours later, I checked my instagram page, which is what I do first thing in the morning before getting out of bed so I can be caught up on my friends and family and their life events, and I got a follow request. I checked to see who it was, and lo and behold. It was my ex best friend, who had blocked me in the previous years on his social media. I found it odd at first, but then I realized that there was something embedded in this whole scenario. Grudges are not worth it.

We live in a generation that uses the term “being petty” like it is the latest fashion trend. No one forgives, and no one forgets. I am not saying that if that person treated you like shit, excuse my French, that you should let them completely back in your life. What I am saying is that we as humans tend to hold on to negativity like magnets. We get hurt by people, we grow bitter, and we hate them for making us bitter. Understand this: If trifles we feel so strongly about are keeping us from moving on, I say put the burden down on your trail in life and keep walking, for there are better opportunities ahead. What I mean is that hate keeps us from moving on, so we need to learn to forgive. I have had plenty of difficulties to forgive others with ease, but that is something I am working on in my life. Sometimes it is easier for some people than others. No matter what, we live in a world that is rough, and there is no time to build walls and make new enemies. You don’t have to be a part of their lives. Hell, you don’t even have to talk to them. This is a battle we hold in our inner selves, and in order to win, we must move on and let go of the pain and anger in our hearts.

So, of course I let my ex best friend follow me on instagram, and I can honestly say that I am glad that he actually unblocked me on social media. It shows that he is a big person, and that he is not going to hold hostility against me either. If he ever sees this blog post, I hope he understands what I am trying to say here, and that I hope everything is going well and prosperous in his life. How to forgive is a lesson that we all should learn, and that we all should remember in everyday life.

 

Leave a Reply

