My Progress Thus Far (Crimson Nights)

For those who read last Wednesday’s blog, I said that I was behind on writing due to an incredibly busy week of work and school and life events. To make up for my lack of productivity, I went on a huge writing spree on Monday night, after I had a case of extreme boredom and angst, and I powered through a stunning ten poems. It was not easy, I can assure you of that. As far as publishing goes, it seems that I am right on schedule and I am extremely excited and thrilled about how far The Molley Files has come.

One of my favorite poems that occurred during my spree was “Crimson Nights”. It goes a little like this:

Slashes of sun rays,

Redder than the blood in our veins,

Peeking over the line of mountains,

And looking down over the plains,

As I stare indirectly into the crimson night

I begin to wonder if the land feels pain,

And if the earth is starting to strain,

I doubt the feet who stand upon the ground,

Understand what’s under the fields of grain,

Deep in the heart of our homeland, where we remain,

And the crimson night is where I will be found,

Where the sky bleeds and the heart of the earth pounds,

And the rays of the sun turn blood red, the clouds are crowned,

In gold, in dark ruby color, and in glorious light that can’t be explained,

And the drums of battle sound,

Deep in the Crimson Nights 

 

For the rhyme scheme, I had a steady pattern of all but a couple lines rhyming. For example, I put the rhyme scheme down below to refer to…

And if the earth is starting to strain, (A)

I doubt the feet who stand upon the ground, (B)

Understand what’s under the fields of grain, (A)

Deep in the heart of our homeland, where we remain, (A)

As you can see in the poem, most of the rhyme scheme is closest to the setup of AABA throughout the poem, and I chose the odd ones out to only be “night” as in, “Crimson Night”. I felt that the title of the poem should most definitely stick out where all can see, instead of fitting them in my rhyme schemes and rhythms. Overall, I chose a steady scheme to create a tense tone as the reader observes each line, And in my own quickened thought rate, I imagined the tone to be low at first, quiet and steady… but then as I continued to write, I could hear the war drums pound in my head, and I could see the redness of the sky, as if the urgent whispers of war were ringing in my ears. Of course, the meaning behind this imagery can be left up to the reader himself.

There will be more to come, I promise. For now, I leave you with your imagination to see what is next!

-Em

Leave a Reply

